For many years, if we want to get rid of a photo for good, we have to look in the “recently deleted” folder to make sure that it has been removed from our device. Apparently, iOS 16 has bring the same features in iMessage.
Most notably, iOS 16 has enabled users to edit and unsend text messages within iMessage apps. Additionally, it includes a new feature that is referred to as the “recently deleted” folder. Having said that, in the event that you have deleted a text message and would like it to be completely removed from your device, you will need to check another folder in order to permanently delete it.
However, where can you locate this folder? Tap the “Edit” option that is located in the upper left corner of the main Message view, you will find the “Show recently deleted” option. Tapping this option will lead you to the history of all messages that have been deleted. You then have the option to either recover a message that you previously deleted or delete it permanently from that point forward. Otherwise, any messages that still remain in this folder will be held for 30 days before being permanently deleted by the system.
Apple explained that conversations will display the number of days left before being deleted. “After that period of time, messages will be deleted from your iPhone for good. This could take as long as forty days.”
In addition, Apple has included these features in its photo apps for a number of years now, and with the most recent update to iOS 16, recently deleted folders will be automatically locked by default. Users have the option of locking this folder with either Face ID, a passcode, or Touch ID. Unfortunately, there is no option in iMessage to lock the recently deleted folder.
Source :